Hannah Montana: Got to Get Her Out of My House

Hannah Montana, Episode # 83, Got to Get Her Out of my House (January 10, 2010), TV Program. Produced by: It’s a Laugh Productions, Michael Poryes Productions, and the Disney Channel for the Disney Channel.  Actors,Miley Cyrus, Emily Osment, Mitchel Musso, Jason Earles, Billy Ray Cyrus.  Series dates: 2006 – 2011.

Plot Summary: The premise of the Hannah Montana series is that main character, Miley Stewart, leads a double-life as a school girl by day and famous pop star, Hannah Montana, at night.  Miley’s hair is brown, and she wears a blonde wig when she is Hannah Montana.  This episode is about Miley’s best friend, Lilly, who is trying to work to earn money to buy a car with her boyfriend.  Lilly knows about Miley’s secret life.  Lilly’s perfectionism causes her to lose her job at a local sandwich shop, and she ends up becoming the housekeeper at Miley’s house.  Miley’s dad is thrilled with Lilly’s perfectionism with her housekeeping duties, but soon her rigid ways become more than Miley and her brother, Jackson, can bear.  How will they get Lilly out of their house without hurting her feelings?  Will Lilly earn enough money to buy the car she wants?

Review: OK, I have to admit that I could not stand this program.  Maybe I picked the wrong episode, but I found the plot irritatingly vacant of any substance.  The acting was way overdone.  This was the first episode of Hannah Montana that I had seen.  Before this, I had only seen a spoof of the fictional “Miley Cyrus Show” on Saturday Night Live.  When I saw the spoof I assumed (incorrectly) that the actress who was portraying Miley Cyrus was going over the top with exaggerated facial expressions and ridiculously over emphasized words in her speech.  But, it turns out that Miley Cyrus playing Miley Stewart is really that much of an over actor.  In fact I have a new appreciation for the SNL actress who portrays Miley Cyrus.  I am far from my tween years, and, maybe, I would very well have watched and liked this program if it been on when I was the target age, but I just can’t seem to find anything redeeming about this particular episode.  I know it’s supposed to be funny and over the top, but it just seemed cheesy.  I found it inane, predictable, totally unrealistic, simplistic, and parts of it, when Miley and Jackson pretend to be mobsters, were offensive and ill conceived.  I plan to watch another episode to see if I can “get it,” because right now, I just don’t.

Genre(s): Comedy

Viewing/Interest Level: 8 – 13 years

Available in: Cable TV Disney Channel, DVD, online at http://disney.go.com/videos/#/videos/&content=1085765

Similar Programs: That’s So Raven, The Wizards of Waverly Place, iCarly

Subjects: friendship, perfectionism, jobs

Leave a Reply

